Apple Music now lets users collaborate on playlists.Here's how to use it


If I had to choose between Apple Music and Spotify, I would definitely side with Apple Music.

I'm not against Spotify, but there are several reasons why I prefer Apple Music. I like the look and feel of Apple Music, it fits perfectly with my other Apple devices, and the high-resolution streaming is reliable.

Still, there's one big thing I wanted that Spotify has had forever and Apple Music has always lacked. It's a collaborative playlist.

My Apple Music library is full of playlists that I share with friends and family, but unlike Spotify, there was no way to collaborate on the same playlist.

That is, until now.

Apple released iOS 17.3 on Monday. This brings several new features to his iPhone, including improved protection against phone theft, new wallpapers for Black History Month, AirPlay hotel support, and of course Apple Music collaborative playlists.

If you want to share the fun of creating playlists with others, here's everything you need to know. Learn more about how to download iOS 17.3 and see all the new features in iOS 17.3.

How to create collaborative playlists on Apple Music

In Apple Music, when you create a playlist or navigate to one of your existing playlists, a new icon appears in the top right corner of your screen with a person icon and a plus sign. This is the button to create a playlist. Collaborate on playlists.

Tap on it and in the pop-up that appears, Start a collaboration Anyone with the link to your playlist will be able to edit and rearrange the songs. You can also toggle on the option to approve collaborators in case your link is shared with someone you didn't intend.

A process that shows you how to collaborate on playlists in Apple Music

When you tap editedit your name and add a profile photo.

Nelson Aguilar/CNET

When you make a playlist collaborative, a share sheet appears and the Apple Music playlist link is copied to your clipboard. You can then paste the link elsewhere or share it via text message, email, AirDrop, etc.

A new icon with multiple people icons appears in the top right corner of the playlist to indicate that the playlist is collaborative. You'll also see a user icon next to each song in your playlist, so you can see which users have added which songs to your playlist.

Share a playlist link on Apple Music Share a playlist link on Apple Music

Playlists can only be edited in the Apple Music app.

Nelson Aguilar/CNET

When you play a song in a collaborative playlist in full screen, you'll see the name of the person who added the song to the playlist, and you'll also have the option to react to the song with an emoji. Similar to using text in the Messages app. The emoji will be displayed next to the song name. Tap on it to see people who reacted to that emoji.

React to songs with emojis in collaborative playlists React to songs with emojis in collaborative playlists

Tap the + icon to select any emoji, including the ones you use most often.

Nelson Aguilar/CNET

Tap the collaborative playlist icon again to copy the playlist link to your clipboard, display a QR code that others can scan with their phone's camera to access the playlist, or accept or reject collaborators. or stop collaborating on a playlist.

Edit collaborative playlists in Apple Music Edit collaborative playlists in Apple Music

Everyone who contributed to the playlist will be listed here.

Nelson Aguilar/CNET

While you're here, check out the iOS 17.2 features you need to know about.



Leave a Comment